Meet people from all over the World
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Windows 8  (Read 986 times)

Gary910

• Getting Better
  • Beatles Collector
Windows 8
« on: March 06, 2012, 06:21:41 PM »

I just started playing with the Consumer Preview of Windows 8 (you can download from Microsoft). I tried running it on my desktop. I have a very powerful machine, so performance is no problem, but I consider this THE WORST WINDOWS EVER!!!

I typically have a more positive view of new technology. I find this OS cumbersome to move around in and an utter pain.

The learning curve on just getting around is huge.

Anybody else tried this? Even if you haven't give a "NO". Or if you would like to, please voice your thoughts.
And now you've changed your mind, I see no reason to change mine --Lennon/McCartney
Sheet Music Plus Homepage

Toejam

• A Beginning
Re: Windows 8
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2012, 11:16:00 PM »

I was thinking about it but don't know if I can. I mean does it superced the OS that's on your computer and so you kind of really need to only do it on a spare machine? I don't like the look of it. It's being designed for tablets more than anything isn't it? I've got myself stuck with Vista basic atm 'cause my laptop with W7 on it crashed and I had to have it set to the factory setting 'cause I'd lost the W7 product code key and disc. Thinking of buying it again tomorrow 'cause I've got a bit of spare cash. but am worried a-this computer is on it's last legs and I'll not be able to use it for much longer thereby wasting the money or b-that it'll get stolen 'cause I'm living in a bedsit slap bang in the middle of a red light area. The landlord's told me thy've had a few brake in's over the years. Might just wait till this laptop finally packs up altogether then get a new one with it on.
IMAGINE ALL THE PEEPLE

Gary910

• Getting Better
  • Beatles Collector