Meet people from all over the World
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: ..."WoW" on Gimme Some Truth  (Read 2205 times)

Frightwolf

• A Thousand Pages
..."WoW" on Gimme Some Truth
« on: July 31, 2004, 01:34:07 AM »

I am taken away by that song.  I take it Lennon had some bad experiences from politicians, eh?

This is my first time hearing it, and holy crap... I don't know what to say about this song! I really like it, yet it's so BLUNT! Pig-bellied yellow... I don't even remember 90% of the gibes, but Lennon used about every insult known to man and smeared it into this song.

Amazing.  I'm flabbergasted  :P.  What a powerful and p*ssed off song  :)

Runforyourlife

Re: ..."WoW" on Gimme Some Truth
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2004, 02:03:11 AM »

I love it! I also think that a song like Bring on the Lucie off of Mind Games is so relavant these days. If you hear that song and think about now, I think I'll take your "wow" and apply it even more fervently here.

Bruno

• A Thousand Pages
  • The choice is yours, don't be late
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2004, 02:36:03 AM »

It's a brilliant and underrated song

---powered by Moondogs®---

« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2004, 05:34:44 AM »

It was a perfect expression of the times.  The oppressive reign of the Nixonian era, coupled with the end of the idealistic 60's and the growth of cynical young adulthood.

« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2004, 11:55:48 AM »

Frighty, not to start up that PLASTIC ONO BAND stuff again, but I'm kind of surprised you appreciate the direct anger approach of 'Gimmee Some Truth', but don't feel the same intensity from the POB album?

Frightwolf

• A Thousand Pages
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2004, 03:39:05 PM »