Meet people from all over the World
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: "Ringo was the best Beatle" says NME critic  (Read 2789 times)

Mairi

• That Means a Lot
  • The owls are not what they seem
"Ringo was the best Beatle" says NME critic
« on: September 07, 2009, 07:20:37 PM »

http://www.nme.com/blog/index.php?blog=58&title=the_best_beatle_why_ringo_of_course&more=1&c=1&tb=1&pb=1

When people find out I’m a music journalist there’s a set line of questioning they tend to follow. First will be, "What’s your surname?", followed by a look of mock-recognition, a flattering set-up to, "Can you get me a ticket for Kings Of Leon?" Then will come more of a statement than a question: "No, I won’t have sex with you and these three other girls, and can you please stop stealing my food?"

Finally, the classic: "What’s your favourite band?" I know what they want me to say. They want me to degrade them with a withering snarl, make them feel like an ignorant maggot on my cultural boot-heel (the slaaags) and sneer, "The Monks, obviously".

Or they want me to reel off an endless list of Big Pinks, XXs and David Sitek’s Spunky Backpacks that they can memorise and repeat back at the call centre in order to look like an SAS sniper scout of rock’n’roll. Or, if it’s someone in IT, they want me to say Radiohead.

In all cases, I disappoint. After a lifetime of hunting out the best new music, my favourite band remains The Beatles.

Sorry. I am that mythical music critic who really does believe that ‘Revolver’ is the best record ever made. I would swap a million smack-slurry Peter Doherty demos to get my mitts on the forthcoming remastered Fabs’ back catalogue. I felt privileged to get to chat to Sir Macca himself for this week’s NME Eggmanstravaganza.