Meet people from all over the World
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Yellow Submarine - thoughts?  (Read 6968 times)

The Fox Drummer

• A Beginning
  • I'm a drummer, not a wetnurse.
Yellow Submarine - thoughts?
« on: September 17, 2007, 04:16:29 PM »

Everyone knows 'Yellow Submarine'. The guy at the bus stop. The little kid at camp. The random person you happen to ask on the street. In fact, when someone says 'Beatles' these days, most people are likely to think immediately, 'Yellow Submarine'! or boast that it's their favourite Beatles song when it's really the only one that they actually know.

But if you think about, besides the movie...why is this? As much as I love Ringo, 'Yellow Submarine' does not have the best vocals, nor are the lyrics particularly inspiring. In terms of sound, it's fun, but nothing we haven't heard before during the days of Sgt. Pepper.

So why is Yellow Submarine so incredibly popular? And why has it become the one song that people relate the Beatles to? One would think 'She Loves You', something brilliant such as 'A Day In The Life' or 'All You Need Is Love'...but no, it's got to be a kiddie song that sounds like Paul wrote it when he was either tripping or bored. ;)

(Incidentally, what are your own thoughts about the song?)
<br />One thing I can tell you is you got to be free...

Klang

• A Thousand Pages
  • Go to the window...
    • Klangville
Re: Yellow Submarine - thoughts?
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2007, 04:20:01 PM »

We all live in one.

:)

'...In the name of Preverti, daughter of the mountains, whose embrace with Rani made the whole world tremble...'

The Fox Drummer

• A Beginning
  • I'm a drummer, not a wetnurse.
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2007, 04:25:12 PM »

*gasp* That must be it!
<br />One thing I can tell you is you got to be free...

Kevin

• That Means a Lot
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2007, 05:01:10 PM »