Meet people from all over the World
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]

Author Topic: Where Would The Beatles Be Without Ringo?  (Read 34238 times)

Mr Mustard

• Getting Better
Re: Where Would The Beatles Be Without Ringo?
« Reply #60 on: October 19, 2014, 11:13:00 PM »

- the perfect album imo. lyrically and musically :)

...but not vocally Kev, and therein (for me) lies the problem. Too introspective and pretentious for me I'm afraid.

I keep reminding everyone I'm not a musician - for me the instrumentation is the background which nicely "colours in" a song - which is centred around the lead vocal and the harmonies. The Beatles would have been fine a capella - Pink Floyd would have been dreadful.

It's why I've never rated musically gifted but vocally challenged groups like The Yardbirds.

Take themselves too seriously (Ringo never allowed The Beatles to do that. Which brings us back to the point of this thread).
Sheet Music Plus Homepage

tkitna

• That Means a Lot
  • I'm a Moondog,,,,,are you?
« Reply #61 on: October 20, 2014, 12:07:49 AM »

I take the opposite view, if a record is so successful/revered, indeed if anything is so successful/revered, it almost has to be NOT worth checking out. Exception which proves the rule.....The Beatles.

I don't understand your thinking here, but its already been touched upon by Mr.M.

'Thriller' sold truckloads and, because they were releasing 45s off that for years, I KNOW that it's garbage.
I heard the thing by default!

Hmm.  I'm not a fan of Michael Jackson or Pop music, but even I can see the brilliance in this album.  The production and song structures are pretty amazing and it pains me to say that.  I couldn't call this album garbage if I wanted to, because its just not true.  If you don't like it, fine, but there's a reason why this record reached the heights that it did.