Meet people from all over the World
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Paul..and the level of musicianship of the Beatles  (Read 4111 times)

nimrod

Paul..and the level of musicianship of the Beatles
« on: April 30, 2011, 03:28:32 AM »

I mentioned that guitar solo on Taxman in the microscope thread, I think I understated my feelings about it.........as a guitarist myself Im gonna say its bordering on genius, especially when the same guy writes things like Blackbird and Here There and Everywhere  :o

millions of good lead guitarists could not have come up with that, its gobsmacking really.

especially when you consider the fella could play drums and piano as well. I wonder if Paul ever got frustrated with the level of musicianship of the others?

OK John was a genius, but of idea's and songwriting, not really musicianship.

tkitna

• That Means a Lot
  • I'm a Moondog,,,,,are you?
Re: Paul..and the level of musicianship of the Beatles
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2011, 04:16:43 AM »

especially when you consider the fella could play drums and piano as well. I wonder if Paul ever got frustrated with the level of musicianship of the others?

Of course he did. Watch 'Let It Be'.

nimrod

« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2011, 07:12:14 AM »

speaking as a drummer tkitna do you think Paul was good on the kit ?

tkitna

• That Means a Lot
  • I'm a Moondog,,,,,are you?
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2011, 09:52:01 AM »

Oh, he had some moments (Dear Prudence, Band On The Run), but on a whole I never really cared for his drumming. Too mechanical. Almost as if he tried too hard.

I dont care for a lot of his lead guitar playing either though. No soul.

glass onion

• Getting Better
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2011, 07:02:01 PM »