Solo forums > Paul McCartney

Controversial comments made by macca on lennon ?

(1/4) > >>

chewinggum:
hello

i'm new, my name's marc
i'm a little journalist

could you all tell me if macca really said sth like that

'lennon wasnt martin luther king; lennon was suspicious, plotter, parano, jealous and took advantage of songs he never wrote'

it comes from the (serious) french public tv in 1985
watch the 3rd videoclip
http://obsession.nouvelobs.com/people/20120131.OBS0272/la-carriere-de-paul-mccartney-en-5-videos.html

jamesbjorkman:
Wow, that's a lot of stuff for Paul to have said about John!

I think I would have seen something if Paul had ever come right out and said that John claimed credit for Paul's songs, was suspicious, etc.  They sometimes had slightly different recollections of how much each contributed to particular songs, but that's not the same as calling the other out.

That's not to say that Paul didn't THINK all those things, perhaps rightly in some small ways.  He may have said those things in private, wouldn't surprise me in the slightest.  Paul, however, is much too diplomatic to come right out and slag off Lennon in the media, with any cameras or tape recorders around. Trust me, it would be big news if he did.  Instead, he says oblique things about John that can be interpreted various ways, such as (I'm paraphrasing here) "People think that John was the bully and I was nice, but that's not the way it was at all."  They both used their song lyrics to (supposedly) take shots at each other, but that requires interpretation and they are, again, oblique shots at best.

Here are some thing that Paul DID say about John.  You might notice Paul often uses little qualifiers when saying things about Lennon, such as "in the main" and "it wasn't always" like that, or putting his praise in the past tense:

"I feel that if I said anything about John, I would have to sit here for five days and say it all. Or I don't want to say anything."