Print Topic - Archive

DM's Beatles forums  /  Selling, Buying, Exchanging  /  Anthology CD-ROM, boot or legit?
Posted by: BlueMeanie, December 5, 2007, 11:15am
Quoted from 981
Hello, first post here. There's a "Beatles Anthology CD-ROM" listed on Ebay right now, but I'm hesitant to bid because I can't find any info on it. Was there such a thing created by ABC-TV or is this just something someone burned? How can you tell if it is legit?

Thanks,
Syd


Hi Syd, welcome. I wouldn't know if it was genuine or not, as allegedly it was produced for the American media. Ebay have really cracked down on bootlegs over the last year or two, so it's possibly legit. Go for it if it's cheap enough.
Posted by: Bobber, December 5, 2007, 11:21am; Reply: 1
Hi. Not a very good idea to use your e-mailaddress for a username by the way.
I have never heard of an official Anthology CD-ROM. Of course there's cd's, dvd's and video's, but a cd-rom sounds like a copy to me.
Posted by: BlueMeanie, December 5, 2007, 11:25am; Reply: 2
Quoted from Bobber
Hi. but a cd-rom sounds like a copy to me.


Not necessarily. It was quite popular to send out media packs on CD-ROM in the 90's.
Posted by: 982 (Guest), December 5, 2007, 2:01pm; Reply: 3
I'm back with a more sensible login, but the cat's already out of the bag, right?

edit: I tried to repair some things for you and to hide your e-mailaddress. Bobber

Here's a picture from the auction, it looks professionally printed.

http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/2805/beatlescdromsmnx3.jpg
Posted by: Bobber, December 5, 2007, 2:27pm; Reply: 4
The picture does not load correctly for me, Syd.
Posted by: BlueMeanie, December 5, 2007, 2:52pm; Reply: 5
Here's the link to ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Beatles-Anthology-CD-ROM-Rare-ABC-Promos-and-photos_W0QQitemZ270191596769QQihZ017QQcategoryZ432QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Posted by: 982 (Guest), December 5, 2007, 3:10pm; Reply: 6
Looks like something happened, they posted a new one. After I cleared my cache, it disappeared for me too!

They posted this updated link
Posted by: Bobber, December 5, 2007, 3:13pm; Reply: 7
Looks like a press release from ABC to me. I read on the eBay link that parts of it can only be watched with Windows 3.11 or Windows 95. Could be nice. Looks legit to me.
Print page generated: December 3, 2008, 8:25am