Meet people from all over the World
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Punk History  (Read 4619 times)

Sondra

• That Means a Lot
Punk History
« on: October 16, 2005, 06:30:09 AM »

I recently read a post on another forum that states that punk was started in the UK and that it was the Sex Pistols who started it. No one seems to be arguing about it, but it got me wondering. Didn't the Sex Pistols come out in the late 70's? And wasn't the whole Detroit and New York CBGB's scene going on in the early/mid 70's?? Weren't bands like the Velvet Underground, MC5, the Stooges, and the Ramones performing a few years before the Sex Pistols were even formed?? So, did they not begin what was to become known as punk? I don't know, I'm not an expert in music history, but this is how I see it. Am I way off? I know there are people here who know way more than me, so I'd like your opinions on the whole Sex Pistols started punk. I mean, they may have crossed over and gotten the most attention, but started it? I just don't know.
Sheet Music Plus Homepage

Crazy Diamond

Re: Punk History
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2005, 10:37:38 AM »

Punk started in the late 60's.

« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2005, 11:06:39 AM »

really?

what bands started it then then

Joost

• That Means a Lot
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2005, 11:12:39 AM »

The Sex Pistols started the hype, but they weren't the first.

Crazy Diamond

« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2005, 12:39:26 PM »

Quote from: lennonlegend
really?

what bands started it then then
The Stooges, MC5, etc.

GreenApple

• A Thousand Pages
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2005, 12:54:53 PM »

Quote from: Zep_Fan
Punk started in the late 60's.