Meet people from all over the World
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Ringo's drums on She Said She Said 2022 mix  (Read 2367 times)

Loco Mo

• Getting Better
  • Oh, woe is me, and Mo am I.
Ringo's drums on She Said She Said 2022 mix
« on: October 29, 2022, 03:43:21 PM »

I've listened to this several times.  I don't understand his drumming on this song.

I was a drummer as a teenager, and I know for a fact I would never have created something like this.  How in the world do you devise drumming fills like these?
Some try to tell me thoughts they cannot defend.
Sheet Music Plus Homepage

nimrod

• Global Moderator
  • A Thousand Pages
Re: Ringo's drums on She Said She Said 2022 mix
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2022, 12:06:58 AM »

I've listened to this several times.  I don't understand his drumming on this song.

I was a drummer as a teenager, and I know for a fact I would never have created something like this.  How in the world do you devise drumming fills like these?

According to Hunter Davies book, Ringo said he just sits behind his kit in the studio and does what the others tell him.
Kevin

All You Need Is Love

Moogmodule

• A Thousand Pages
  • “Moog was the truth” TheseLyricsDoNotExist 2023
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2022, 12:55:03 AM »

Listening to the new Revolver mixes and session tapes, Ringo’s playing is great all over this record. His She Said playing reminds me of Rain. Sometimes he starts a fill halfway through the bar before you’d usually think to put one. Sometimes two bars. This became a bit of a trademark of his middle period Beatle playing. He does it on Strawberry Fields as well among others.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2022, 07:40:02 AM by Moogmodule »

Loco Mo

• Getting Better
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2022, 05:01:01 PM »

Well, it looks like nobody has anything to say about this topic.  That's okay.  (Thanks, Moogmodule, for your input.)